fixed : Storage Full error warning on AppleWatch 3

Question :

I have an AppleWatch 3 (or Series 3 as it is officially called) and a few days ago, an warning message popped up saying there its memory is full.

The warning reeds :
Storage Full Try removing music or photos using the AppleWatch app on iPhone.

but… when I go to the Watch app on my iPhone, there are no photos or music that I can erase…

What can I do to solve this ?

Answer :

In case you get a ‘Storage Full’ warning and you have an AppleWatch Series 3, your only option is to Unpair & Update, as you cannot erase any content manually. If you have a newer AppleWatch (an SE-Series, Series 4 or up) you can erase some content manually, so you could restart you AppleWatch and see if that helps, or you could try freeing up space by deleting media or apps. Here’s how to Unpair & Update :

  • on your iPhone, open the Watch-app
  • now, make sure your AppleWatch and iPhone are close together during the entire process (so the connection between the two will not be broken)
  • in the Watch-app, click the My Watch icon (bottom left) first, then click “My Watches” (top left)
  • in the “All Watches” window that opens, make sure that the AppleWatch you want to unpair is selected ( not really relevant if you only have one AppleWatch )
  • then, click on the INFO-icon (the i-in-a-circle icon) next to the selected AppleWatch
  • in the “Apple Watch” window that opens, click on “Unpair Apple Watch” (bottom left)
  • then, type your AppleID password when asked
  • note : upon request, make sure to select to keep your cellular plan if you have a GPS+Cellular AppleWatch
  • now click to confirm the unpairing
  • note : if you get a message that the unpairing might have gone wrong, and the AppleWatch is no longer listed in the Watch-app on your iPhone, try resetting your AppleWatch by long-pressing the Side Button until the SOS-slider appears ; then click the power button that also appeared (top right) ; if that still doesn’t unpair the AppleWatch properly, select “Erase all content” from the Settings menu
  • note : upon request, disable Activation Lock by entering your AppleID password
  • your iPhone will now create a backup of your AppleWatch’s content & apps before erasing your AppleWatch (if needed, you can use that backup to restore to a ‘clean’ Apple Watch)
  • after the AppleWatch has been erased, start by setting it up as a new AppleWatch
  • to do so, make sure your AppleWatch and iPhone are close together and follow the onscreen instructions
  • when done, you have a ‘new’ (but ’empty’) AppleWatch, and the latest available version of WatchOS will be installed
  • now, you will probably want to reinstall your apps & content from your backup – to do so, do this :
  • unpair the AppleWatch again
  • then setup your AppleWatch once again from your iPhone, but this time, upon request, choose “restore from backup” (not “set up as new”)

that’s it !

enjoy 😉

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.