fixed : get very old iPhoto Library to open in macOS Mojave Photos.app

Question :

On my old PowerPC G4 (or G5) Mac I found some old photos in iPhoto.

Is it possible to copy the database and open it in the Photos.app on my new Mac that runs macOS 10.14 Mojave ?

Or do I have to import the photos as just photos and lose all additional info and edit that was done in iPhoto long ago ?

 

Answer :

Of course, the easiest and quickest way to get the original photos into your new Photos.app would be to just import all the old photos into Photo.app. But… as you already mentioned, you will loose all additional info and edits that you added in iPhoto back in the days.

The best way to get as much info and edits into Photos.app as possible is to do the following :

  • connect an external HD, external SSD or USB-stick with plenty of GBs to your old PowerPC G4 or G5 Mac
  • go to Users –> [your account name] –> Pictures –> iPhoto Library
  • copy the iPhoto Library (or even the entire Pictures folder) onto your external HD/SSD or USB-stick
  • when done, eject the external HD/SSD or USB-stick (by dragging it’s icon to the trash or clicking the eject-icon besides it’s name in the Finder) and disconnect it from your old Mac
  • then connect the external HD/SSD or USB-stick to your new Mac
  • download the iPhoto Library Upgrader software from Apple :

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202358

  • install the iPhoto Library Upgrader Tool
  • go to Applications –> Utilities –> iPhoto Library Upgrader Tool
  • run the iPhoto Library Upgrader Tool
  • in the window that opens, click on the Choose Library button
  • then select the iPhoto Library that is now on your external HD/SSD or USB-stick
  • then click Continue
  • when done, exit the iPhoto Library Upgrader Tool
  • then go to Apple-menu (Apple-icon top-left in the Finder) –> System Preferences –> iCloud
  • make sure you are Signed In into iCloud
  • then, in the list on the right at “Photos” click on the Options button
  • then make sure that there is a check mark at “iCloud Photos”
  • then exit System Preferences
  • now, double-click the Photos.app while holding down the [ALT]-key on your keyboard
  • now, while starting up Photos.app will ask you which Photos/ iPhoto Library to open
  • then choose the iPhoto Library that’s on your external HD/SSD or USB-stick
  • now, Photos.app will start converting the iPhoto Library to an up-to-date Photos Library
  • when done, Photos.app will display your old iPhoto photos
  • then, in Photos.app, goto Preferences, then General-tab and at Library Location click the ‘Use as System Photo Library’-button, to (temporarily) make the old iPhoto/Photos Library the one that syncs with iCloud
  • then Photo.app will start uploading the old photos to iCloud
  • now, in iCloud, these photos will be merged with the ones that were already in iCloud and they will be sent out to your iCloud (or rather iCloud Photos) connected devices
  • when the uploading is complete, you can quit Photos.app
  • now, double-click the Photos.app while holding down the [ALT]-key on your keyboard
  • now, while starting up Photos.app will ask you which Photos/ iPhoto Library to open
  • then choose the iPhoto Library that used to be your main Photos Library previously (usually the one that is in your current user’s Pictures folder)
  • then, in Photos.app, goto Preferences, then General-tab and at Library Location click the ‘Use as System Photo Library’-button, to make make your main Photos Library the one that syncs with iCloud again and be the one that opens when you startup Photos.app
  • then wait for the ‘new’ (additional old) photos to sync from iCloud and you will have an integrated Photos Library of old and new Photos and iPhoto’s databases

that’s it !

enjoy ūüėČ

Advertisements

fixed : account info greyed out in iOS 12

Question :

I have just upgraded my child’s iPhone from iOS 11 to iOS 12, but I can’t access his/her iCloud settings, since his/her account name is greyed out in Settings.app and nothing happens when I click on it…

How can I solve this ?

 

Answer :

The problem is that you have had Restrictions-setting active on iOS 11, and it is still active on iOS 12…

However : the Restrictions-setting is no longer in the “General”-chapter of Settings.app, starting in iOS 12, the Restrictions-setting is in the “Screen Time”-chapter (the purple hourglass icon just above the grey sprocket/gear-wheel icon of the “General”-chapter) and the setting is now called “Content & Privacy Restrictions”

So, do this :

  • open the Settings.app
  • in the window that opens, click on “Screen Time” (the chapter just above “General”)
  • in the next window, click on “Content & Privacy Restrictions”
  • when asked, type the Restrictions-password-code (4 digits) you previously used on iOS 11
  • then scroll down to “ALLOW CHANGES:” and “Account Changes” and adjust the setting to allow changes
  • now, the account-info in Settings will no longer be greyed out and you can also login on additional iCloud services like Messages (a.k.a. iMessage)

that’s it !

enjoy ūüėČ

fixed : make old iPhone ready for clean install

Question :

I have just upgraded to a new iPhone, so now I want to pass on my previous iPhone to my child. What is the best way to do get this olde iPhone ready to transfer his/her data onto it ?

 

Answer :

Over time, little things inside iOS get buggy or corrupted… especially each time you transfer your data and settings directly to a new iPhone and/or iOS version. If you upgrade your iPhone’s version of iOS onto a new one without doing a clean install, which requires you to erase all data from your device, buggy data¬†and settings get copied over also…

So… every once in a while you should do a clean install, especially if you run into weird and inexplainable buggy behavior of your iPhone.

FYI :

  • If you do a regular iOS upgrade or update, all system info is copied¬†over, so that won’t get¬†rid of most of the problems
  • If you backup to iCloud, only personal data, settings and game progress are preserved, so bugs and corruptions¬†get some chance of being solved, especially if you take the time to do a complete reinstall of iOS from the online AppStore (i.e. a Clean Install)
  • If you restore iOS from a personal backup (like an iPhone backup in your personal iTunes-backup registry), you also run the risk of reinstalling the bugs & errors that had been in your iPhone’s iOS when you last backed-up

so… use the following procedure to make sure you get the least possibility of reintroducing¬†old bugs :

  • turn on your receiver iPhone (the newer one that is going to be used in the future) and open the Settings app
  • click on the owner’s name (with the text “Apple ID, iCoud, iTunes & App Store” below it)
  • click on iCloud
  • click on iCloud Backup
  • click on Back Up Now and a fresh backup of your personal data, your app settings and your Game Center game progress will be synced with iCloud
  • now wait for the iCloud syncing process to complete
  • now do the¬†same on the donor iPhone (the older one that is going to be abandoned)
  • open the Settings app
  • click on the owner’s name (with the text “Apple ID, iCoud, iTunes & App Store” below it)
  • click on iCloud
  • click on iCloud Backup
  • click on Back¬†Up Now and wait for the iCloud syncing process to complete
  • then go back to the receiver iPhone (the newer one that is going to be used in the future)
  • connect the receiver iPhone to a Mac (or Windows-PC) using an USB-cable
  • open iTunes
  • make sure you see your iPhone listed in the sidebar
  • then click on the small iPhone-icon (in the lower top bar ; left of the buttons for Library, For You, Browse, Radio & Store ; and just right of the Music/Films/… -button)
  • now a¬†dedicated iTunes -page opens for the iPhone
  • make sure that “Summary” is selected in the left menu bar
  • then click on the “restore iPhone…”-button
  • then wait for the reinstallation to finish
  • the iPhone is now being erased and reinstalled
  • this reinstall takes extra¬†time, compared to a traditional iOS-upgrade
  • when finished, you have performed what is usually called a ‘Clean Install’
  • now follow the on-screen instructions
  • when you can, enter your iCloud username¬†& password to enable downloading your data & settings from your iCloud-backup
  • needless to say, apps will be restored from the official apps located in iCloud, or rather : the Online iTunes App Store, so the apps will all be restored perfectly, without bugs or buggy behavior

That’s it !

enjoy ūüėČ